Shogun is (nearly) Done!

So, for the ten of you who have been following this saga, here it is (nearly) complete. Last year, I purchased a road bike off Craigslist to try out for myself. It was a Shogun Cro-Mo 500 and I was seduced by the pretty lugs. Of course, I paid way too much.

Here’s the thread on my attempts at restoration for myself.

After I finished the initial restoration, it became obvious this bike didn’t fit me, but that it would fit The Lovely Man I Live With.

Still, it’s been a busy summer. I kept trying to find time to reunite with my friend Abarth to help me finish the bike, but it just wasn’t happening. Meanwhile, the Kind Gentleman With the Crappy Columbia Bike was about to have a birthday. Finally, I took the plunge and dropped the bike down at GHY for Jesse to spruce up. Jesse’s extensive practice on his own older bikes has won me over. Fritz is great, at Dutch Bike, but he’s just too far away. Jesse’s close and knows his stuff.

Nearly finished now, the bike needs only a new saddle (instead of my Ladies Turbo), the brake cables to be shortened a bit, and the brake pads need to be adjusted (they squeak). Otherwise, the bike is finished, and The Handsome Man Who Tolerates My Quirks finds it fun and fast. Here are pictures of the near-finished Shogun.

Let me know what you think!

Edit: Since this was first posted, I have trimmed down the brake cables!

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Bikes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shogun is (nearly) Done!

  1. Tom Reingold says:

    This is everything a bike should be: versatile, functional, and aesthetic. Does The Lovely Man You Live With like it? He better!

  2. rideblog says:

    Tom, he likes it very much. He has only ridden it around the block a few times, as I just got it back on Friday night and he left to mountain climb and ski on Saturday morning! Now it’s back in the shop getting that last adjustment. Ride report once I get back from Ireland.

  3. monk says:

    I’d say Jesse does know his stuff. I thought the fenders might have been a challenge but they look like they belong. Agree with you on the brake cables though. Enjoyed re-reading your restoration post and have to say that the (nearly) done bike owes a lot to you and your stubborn stance on the rust-must-go. Great looking bike!

  4. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Monk. I really, really like how it turned out. I think I’ll hunt him down a B-17 on Craigslist when I return, and it will be all done. He’s excited to get in some riding time, but first… I have to get him down off that darn mountain.

  5. Erin B says:

    Am I allow to say pretty when it’s for a guy?

  6. rideblog says:

    Yep, Erin, even he thinks it’s pretty! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

