Raleigh Retrospective: Pre-Me

Last Wednesday, I was rear-ended. My trunk, bumper and bike rack are all toast. Fortunately, there were no bikes on the rack at the time. I escaped with a mild concussion and some back aches. But once again, there would be no bike riding this weekend.

The Raleigh proposed an alternative… why not show the world what it had been up to, pre-2009, when I purchased the bike? After seeing The Raleigh’s vintage snapshots, I agreed that this would be an amusing alternative.

So without further ado:

The 1969 Raleigh Sports: A Historical Retrospective

1969 was a big year for The Raleigh. In addition to being built at the factory in Nottingham, The Raleigh became the First Bicycle to Roll on the Moon.

The Raleigh soon traveled to America, where it witnessed some significant historical events.

And quickly became a part of the cultural lexicon.

The Raleigh has some serious disco style.

Back in England, political developments were making The Raleigh uncomfortable. It’s known for its populist political views, you know.

So The Raleigh spent most of the 80’s partying in a drug-fueled haze, unfortunately. I don’t even want to talk about the “home videos” with Emilio and Judd.

The 90’s brought back a certain retro aesthetic, which made The Raleigh fashion-forward all over again. By this point, The Raleigh was clean and sober, unless one considers an addiction to Snapple to be an issue.

In fact, some might say that The Raleigh was “King of the World.” A brief sojourn by boat returned The Raleigh to American shores.

That’s it for tonight, folks. Perhaps The Raleigh will reveal more exciting excursions another time.

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Bikes, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Raleigh Retrospective: Pre-Me

  1. disabledcyclist says:

    I’m sorry to hear of your accident,my friend,and glad you’re doing ok! Be cafeful,even “mild” concussions can be a problem\danger,take care of you,your loved ones (the Man and Kids) need you well :) Also glad that famous Raleigh of yours wasn’t on the rack ;) She got around over the years,eh? :p

    The DC

  2. rideblog says:

    Thanks, DC. This is my third concussion in 18 months, and the fourth one in our household. I’m such an expert in them, that I’ve diagnosed two kids at work with them and sent them home to be checked, and been correct. Don’t worry, I’m taking good care of myself!

    The Raleigh says it has many more adventures it can share another time…

  3. I’m sorry to hear you were in an accident! Concussions suck!

    But….omg. This post gave me a good laugh.

  4. rideblog says:

    Thanks, April. It was fun to do, but there’s a surprising paucity of historical events that aren’t tragedies stored in my brain, I found.

  5. disabledcyclist says:

    Rideblog: I feel ya,my friend! I concussed myself twice in ’11,once from riding (low branch,LOL :P ),no fun at all!

    The DC

  6. rideblog says:

    Concussions do suck, but I appear to be almost totally mended. The car, on the other hand…

  7. Oh no! Glad you’re OK and that no bikes were harmed! Cars are just things, after all, but bikes…

  8. rideblog says:

    I KNOW! Princessruffian, I shudder to think how I would have felt if The Raleigh was on the rack! Yike. I would have cried like a baby. Also, I suspect my insurance would find it hard to swallow that I’ve put $300 in upgrades on a $200 bike…

  9. Repeat the mantra….”Cars R Coffiins” over and over until you no longer feel badly for the Honda (and yeah I agree,VERY glad the Raleigh wasn’t on there at the time!),LOL! :P

    The DC

  10. John h says:

    Sorry to hear the bad news, glad your ok. This post was terrific. It reminds me of those “What happened on this date in history” birthday cards. This could start a trend for those people who are photoshop literate, sadly I am not one. =(

  11. rideblog says:

    Photoshop? :)

    I have no idea what you mean… those are totally authentic…

  12. I am as sorry to hear about your accident as I am grateful for the opportunity it has given you to put together this most informative scrap book!

  13. rideblog says:

    The Raleigh is definitely a well-traveled bicycle. It informs me that there’s more photos from famous tourist spots, but that I’ll have to wait on those. Hopefully this weekend, I can actually ride it!

Leave a Reply

