The Viva is Sold!

So though the snow has kept me house-bound for over a week, at last today the streets cleared enough to allow a buyer to test-ride The Viva. Possible Buyer #1 and I have been corresponding about her coming to see the bike for nearly two weeks. In the meantime, I also showed the bike to Possible Buyer #2.

Last weekend, Possible Buyer #1 wasn’t able to make it out before the big snow, and Possible Buyer #2, who came to look at it just before the storm went nuts, was hesitant since she was more interested in a mixte-type bicycle. In the meantime, I was about to lose my mind with impatience.

I waited for the roads to clear, emailed Possible Buyer #1 again, and tonight… out she came, and she bought the bike! She’s very tall, but The Viva was always on the big side for me, so it fit her perfectly. She was looking for a transportation bike, and recognized the great deal she was getting, so I think she will be happy with her purchase. She even has a gorgeous Po Campo Pannier she uses as a purse, and it looks fab on The Viva (what wouldn’t, really?), so I think this was Made To Be.

And I think I’m going to need one of those panniers at some point. That thing was sweet!

I’m hoping to go for a ride with her this spring, so The Raleigh and The Viva can hang out again. As she’s a reader of rideblog, she was interested in meeting the famous Raleigh, which delighted me to no end.

I will miss The Viva, but really, I’ve become a one-bike gal. I will perhaps get The Shogun up and running as a bike for me this summer, or I may not. The derailleur needs replacing on it, and frankly, I’d want upright bars, an internally-geared hub and other upgrades that I don’t really have any money to make. In the meantime, a new camera and lenses are winging their way to me (or they will be, come Monday).

I’m very excited about this! Once I’m comfy with the new set-up, I’ll be giving away my Canon Powershot, with which so many of the lovely photos on this blog have been taken. Stay tuned for that.

And at some point, I hope to… you know… RIDE A BICYCLE AGAIN. Just for kicks.

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Viva is Sold!

  1. monk says:

    Congrats on both the Viva sale and acquisition of a new camera. I’ve been impressed with your work using the Canon so really looking forward to seeing photos taken with the new one.

  2. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Monk! I hope I’m not overly-hyped on this, but I think the new camera (and two lenses), will let me do just about anything I want.

  3. antijen says:

    We made it safely home and I can’t wait to take it out tomorrow! I won’t admit to buying it just to match my Po Campo Pannier, but it does look much prettier on the Viva. I would love to meet up for a ride some weekend. Have we now now set up a playdate for our bikes? ;-)

  4. rideblog says:

    We have! I’m so excited to see the bike go to a good home, and that Po Campo bag was really, really nice. The Raleigh says it definitely needs one in the future.

    As soon as the weather improves, we’ll take the bikes out to play on the Burke!

  5. disabledcyclist says:

    It’s just awesome that a good friend (Viva) goes to a good home occupied by a kindred spirit! Anitjen,congradulations on the new friend :D,Rideblog,ol friend,I’m glad you found the right buyer :D

    Looking forward to seeing what you can do with the new digs (camera),I’ve always enjoyed your pics.

    I should begin my own camera shopping in the next couple weeks,as in the next 3-4 weeks (tax refund ;) ),I’ll have budget to buy (not an elaborate budget,$200 +\-,but that’s twice the budget I had when I bought my current camera,LOL :P). I’m partial to Canon,but I’ll be looking to see what other brands have for the price point as well. It can’t come fast enough,either LOL,as my current camera (Powershot A470) may have survived that house fire last June,but it’s letting me know it’s just about finished now (delayed reaction to the fire,maybe?),LOL! I’ll be watching with great interest as you break in your new one,see how it fits you,one never knows…I may stretch the budget to fit what I want into it (I’ve been known to do so on occasion,teeheehee :P).

    The DC

  6. CJ says:

    Aw, I’m glad the Viva and Raleigh will still get to see one another.

  7. rideblog says:

    DC, you’ll have to check out what I end up with (the reveal should happen around next weekend). There are older models that would *almost* fit your budget. My Canon, which will be up for grabs, remember, was at the price point when I bought it, so you might consider that, too.

    Now I just have to get the camera HERE. I checked and of course the lens shipped today, but the camera won’t ship until Monday. That’ll mean I have one, but not the other. Sigh.

  8. adventure! says:

    … the snow has kept me house-bound for over a week…

    Damn! You guys got hammered up there. With snow. In the Seattle area. Down in Portland we got three inches that barely lasted 12 hours.

    And congrats on the bike sell! Yeah Raleigh!

  9. rideblog says:

    Adventure, I heard you guys got the high winds, though. And our snow is almost entirely gone :(.

    In the end though, having a week off was not a bad thing…

  10. Glad to read that the bike has gone to a good home and I hope the new owner enjoys it. Heaven knows I’ve sold bikes in the past, and it is so nice when the new owner and the bike are a perfect match. Looking forward to reading about more adventures with the Raleigh!

  11. rideblog says:

    Veloria, I’m just looking forward to HAVING adventures on The Raleigh… sigh. I feel like I haven’t ridden in a month… oh wait, I haven’t. Sad face.

Leave a Reply

