April 8, 2012 Ride: On Boys and Bikes

This really isn’t a full-fledged rideblog entry, but we’re not talking about a full-fledged adult companion, either.

On Sunday afternoon, once The Girls had gone back to their mom’s for a late Easter celebration, The Boy and I headed down to the Interurban Trail to see if the baby bunnies were out yet. The Boy is exceptionally fond of bunnies in general, and baby bunnies are tops on his list. This being the appropriate theme for our holiday ride, I figured we might even get lucky and see one.

Within two minutes, we did. Well, he did. He stopped abruptly, threw the bike onto the pavement, and dashed into the tall grass. Could’ve beenĀ diarrhea, or a bunny, you know? Either way, same reaction.

From there, we just rode to enjoy the evening’s warm air and fading light. I have to remind myself, when riding with The Boy, to scale back my expectations. Though he has done eight miles with me around Stanley Park in Vancouver, he doesn’t necessarily want to ride further than a few miles at a time.

Biking with Mama is fun, but it’s not the be-all-end-all for him that it is for me, and that’s okay.

Many breaks were taken in our four-mile round trip:

Yes! A curb! And sunshine! That’s really all you need when you’re seven (this photo reminds me a bit of a wee Richard Nixon from behind, declaring that he’s not a crook).

Oh, and you need trains. Really loud trains.

Expectations adjusted… fun had by all.

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April 8, 2012 Ride: On Boys and Bikes

  1. Hopeful Romantic says:

    We adjusted our expectations when we read to our children (and now to our grandchildren). But it’s the kind of encouragement one hopes will turn into a lifelong habit for them. Good job, Mama!

  2. rideblog says:

    That’s how I do trips with him, too. Build a trip he would enjoy, and I find I enjoy it too. And now he’s a good traveler. As for reading, the kid is doomed with an English teacher mama. He was an average bloomer on reading, but now… he finished Treasure Island this summer. Yeah, the 200 year-old one. Right now he’s reading all of Little House on the Prairie, and Jedi Apprentice, at the same time! Doomed.

  3. DisabledCyclist says:

    While I always enjoy a ride (even a throw-down/knock-out torture fest…even when that wasn’t intentional and is was anyways :P),I know that my most favoritest of favorites,and the ones’ I’ll never forget (even with my memory) are the ones with Jamie and Nick,or any combination of the two of them :) Good post!

    The DC

Leave a Reply

