May 12, 2012 Ride: Impressions Only

So I’ve been trying to figure out how to frame this ride for well over two weeks. Life here is a bit hellish. I finish teaching on the 15th, so I’m in the final week of paper-grading, 3-novel rereading, kid comforting mania that is the end of the year at a prep school. I’m also ramping up for my first trip with my new company, and trying to get the word out about the other trips we’re running. I feel like a squirrel on a treadmill: running and running and running. But unlike said squirrel (do they even use treadmills? I mean, I wouldn’t think so), I have an end in sight. I will stop teaching eventually. It will happen.

Yike!

In the meantime, everything else has fallen by the wayside, including bike riding. That said, I have ridden my bike. Once in the last couple weeks. Ah well, it’s better than nothing. And it was a great ride. I headed down to the Burke Gilman trail and rode the furthest on it I’ve ever been, in gloriously sunny weather.

And I have nothing significant to say about that. I rode. It was wonderful. I didn’t think about anything. I didn’t draw any significant parallels to the structure of literature or the universe or sex or anything. I just rode.

And I took some photos. So in the end, in the interests of actually getting this stuff out there, here are the photos I took. Enjoy. I’ll be back in writing mode soon, I hope!

 

 

 

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to May 12, 2012 Ride: Impressions Only

  1. anniebikes says:

    Thanks for bring back the Burke Gilman memories.

  2. gl. says:

    oh, i love that last photo!

  3. Thanks for sharing the photos! And yes that last picture is the best garage door ever :-)

  4. rideblog says:

    Thanks gl and K, it’s a great garage door. I think it belongs to an artist’s studio, but I’m not sure. I’ve photographed several bikes in front of it and it always makes them look more beautiful.

Leave a Reply

