Quick Shot and Bike Trip Info!

So, after 18 hours on various planes and in airports, I did what any sane person would do as soon as I got up this morning: hopped on my Gazelle and rode it around my neighborhood for an hour! It felt great to get it out on the road again. I’d really been missing it while I was away (especially when we rode on crappy rental bikes for a few hours).

 

The Gazelle performed like a trooper, though I must admit that hills are pretty brutal. Still, it felt great to power up them after being so sedentary yesterday.

Ireland was an amazing trip. Last year was great, but this year was about 1000% better. This had a lot to do with where we stayed. The thing about a hostel or lower-budget hotel is that they are often somewhat impersonal, even when you try to get folks to hang out and socialize. But at the places we stayed this time, we met more local folks and spent more time seeing the ins-and-outs of this small corner of Ireland than I’d ever imagined we would. It was simply fantastic.

And it made me want to go back! Right now! I met a woman who runs a cycling outfit there, and that, combined with the fantastic walks we took, shaped my ideas for another trip.

I’m thinking that in May of next year, I’m going to offer a cycling- and hiking-based trip to Western Ireland. We’ll bike, we’ll hike, we’ll stay in places that will knock your socks off, and best of all… I should be able to keep the price reasonable, because I know folks who will help me negotiate better deals. If you’re interested in biking and hiking in Western Ireland next spring, please let me know. I’m going to keep this trip really, really small (probably 7), so places will go fast. If folks are really interested, I’ll plan another for later in the summer. Keep watching Distant Mountain Trips for updates, but definitely let me know if you want to go. I promise the trip of a lifetime!

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Rides, Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Quick Shot and Bike Trip Info!

  1. disabledcyclist says:

    Good to see you back,and back to riding,my friend! Lots has been going on here,keeping me off the bike for the mostpart since the first week of June,LOL. Didn’t hink cycling would be much of an option here at the new place (cargo/utility cycling still won’t be),but been pdiiling around the ‘hood with Nick a little-not enough to worry about mileage though :P

    The DC

  2. Jason says:

    nice post. You inspired me to zip out on my tourer around my town. Love your bike too.
    Jason

  3. LanzaMarie says:

    OHMIGOSH!! I totally want to be a part of this tour and think I can get my act together in time to commit! Gonna go bookmark that tour site right NOW!

  4. rideblog says:

    Excellent, LanzaMarie! I will add you to the quickly-growing list!

  5. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Jason! I just rode it to my local grocery store, which is three rather hilly miles away, and it did just fine! Love riding that Gazelle.

  6. rideblog says:

    DC, cycling is always an option :).

  7. disabledcyclist says:

    “Utility Cycling” is what I meant not to be as much an option…too far to anywhere and too dangerous here ;)

  8. rideblog says:

    I’m mostly there with you, though for us it’s the fact that we’re on a GIANT hill. Fortunately, the hill is a wide one, and there’s one store I can get to by bike, so I feel like there’s some small amount of utility cycling going on :).

  9. disabledcyclist says:

    Sigh…we moved back into a trailer park for the first time in almost 15 years,only riding I’ve done since is around the place (it’s a pretty nice park as trailer parks go,right on the lake,but not so good for riding,IMHO)

  10. derf says:

    nice post (made me go and get ready for a ride), i notice what looks like a basil basket – i have one too, but frustratingly it is too small for an 18 inch laptop, do you know of any bigger as good baskets?

  11. rideblog says:

    Derf, I’m not sure about that. Mine will hold my laptop, which is a 15″, and it might hold an 18″ laptop if you put it in sideways. I’m not sure any basket would suit a laptop that size. I’d go for a messenger bag at that point.

Leave a Reply

