More Scandinavian Bike Culture

Okay, so we did a sunset bike tour in Copenhagen, which was AMAZING! More on that when I get home and can process some photos.

I’m hoping to do one here in Stockholm, too, so we’ll see if that happens (I’m here one day longer than my clients, so I would do it then).

Some interim observations:

1. My Gazelle is hellaciously gorgeous compared to the average modern bike in Copenhagen.
2. I want bike lanes like Copenhagen now, even though Seattle is way more spread out and has gigantic hills. I don’t care if it’s practical or not!
3. Stockholm is significantly less bikey than Copenhagen. The people are also less fantastically tall and gorgeous. Coincidence? You tell me! Not that the Swedes aren’t beautiful (let the masses of Swedish hate mail begin!).
4. I want to fold up The Gazelle and take it everywhere.
5. This is the coolest gate I’ve ever seen (from Sigtuna, Sweden):

20120816-003510.jpg

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Scandinavian Bike Culture

  1. anniebikes says:

    Yes, that gate is to-die-for! It looks easy to build too. Take an old bike and weld it to an existing structure…metallurgists, take note.

  2. Worlds coolest gate right there!
    Can’t wait to see more from Copenhagen and Sweden.

  3. rideblog says:

    The other side was a tire!

  4. Just for kicks, I’d like to know how a framebuilder would respond if you were to ask for couplers on the Gazelle…

  5. rideblog says:

    While I suspect I know the answer, V, it would be amazing to build something like it. That said, the demo I watched on a Brompton in the Swedish bike store I visited today had me pretty sold, and it wasn’t even in English!

Leave a Reply

