A Few Random Photos and Thoughts…

No, I haven’t been riding lately. It’s been raining, as it always does here, for near eighteen months continuously, and when it isn’t raining (I know this is contradictory, but my brain is moldy) it’s threatening to rain Any Minute Now. Or I’m in my car in the middle of The World’s Largest Traffic Jam Again, staring at the sun in disgust as it breaks in glorious golden maleficence through the clouds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Or perhaps somewhere there is a giant Jack in the Beanstalk type character, fattening me up for a Ren-Fair style medieval feast, with enormous jousting knights and a couple mournful-looking tame dancing bears wearing fezzes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Or it might be the newest in my long and noble tradition of Deadly Sinus Infections. Well, not deadly, I suppose, but deadly, if you know what I mean. This one had me barking like a seal for about three weeks. I refused to get antibiotics, because, you know… they suck so very, very much. But after I realized that My Patient Partner had not slept in our bed in nearly a month because I was waking every night so wracked with coughing that I had to run into the bathroom and throw up, I saw that it was time to bite the medical bullet. I’m still in recovery, but at least My P.P. can sleep in our bed once more instead of the fold-out futon in one of The Girl’s rooms.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Or maybe it’s just winter and I’ve grown lazy. Take your pic. But by the time spring comes, I’ll be able to roll myself downhill like a nice pair of cream Schwalbes — I won’t even need a bike!

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Few Random Photos and Thoughts…

  1. welshcyclist says:

    Nice bike, and very clean, obviously it’s a stranger to the rain? Mine is in a terrble state, and I keep putting off cleaning it, well it’s winter and I’m lazy too. Hope those sinuses continue to get better.

  2. disabledcyclist says:

    Hope you feel better soon,my friend :) And don’t feel like the Lone Ranger on not riding much lately :P

    The DC

  3. Darryl says:

    You just had to go and mention “it”. I’ve have “it” too. But, like you, I’m on the mend. We’ve been missing you. I’m glad to hear you’re getting better. And, incidentally, they’ll probably roll me down the hill right after you. I’m having the hardest time keeping weight down this winter. I’m just hoping that I won’t be mistaken for a double-wide while biking in the spring. Wide load signs and spandex just don’t go together. :>)

    Great pictures of your bike. With the white tail board and rod brakes,at first I thought it was a DL-1W. Hang in there. We’re root’n for ya!

  4. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Welshcyclist! My sinuses are well now, and so I’m hoping the weather eases up soon. Today we had… sigh… a giant windstorm, with rain.

  5. rideblog says:

    Thanks, DC. Feeling much better now. Gave in and took the drugs. Sigh.

  6. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Darryl. I haven’t so much as gained weight as I’ve softened in places I would prefer not to. I definitely have developed a bit of a spare tire!

  7. disabledcyclist says:

    Sometimes they help (the legal,prescription kind,mind you :P ) . Glad you’re feeling a bit better,my friend :)

  8. CJ says:

    Such torment looking at pictures of your beautiful bike and imagining you not riding it. I really hope to hear more ride reports soon! I’ve been missing them. Hopefully good health and good weather will come your way very soon.

Leave a Reply

