April 17 2013 Ride: Weeds

Isn’t it typical: something sits there waiting to be done in your life for months, then when you finally step up to do it… a pissed-off hornet stings your ring finger, and your entire effort seems wasted. I’m talking about weeding here, people. Why, why do I bother gardening? What’s the point? I stink at it, and nature hates me.

Don’t laugh: it does. Or at least, the world of tiny, bitey things hates me. Don’t believe me? I’ve nearly died, twice, from bug bites/stings. And no, I’m not allergic to bees. First, about five years ago I was bitten by a spider, probably a black widow (yes, I said a black widow. We do have them in Washington), and went into anaphylactic shock. Second, a bite on a hiking trip in a remote area of the California coast resulted in blood poisoning (sepsis) that caused a bright red line an inch wide to run from the bite site on my chest nearly 10 inches toward my heart. Only IV antibiotics kept me from dying. No kidding. So, I know from bad bugs.

There I was, on a lovely Tuesday afternoon, pulling weeds in my garden, when something stung me right through my glove. My finger swelled up like a sausage after a few moments of excruciating pain, and my naturopath pronounced it “probably a hornet. As long as you can keep from getting an infection… again… you’ll be okay.” So no more gardening for a few days (this photo is from about 10 minutes after the sting, before the real swelling began. The top bump is my writing callus — I do a lot of writing by hand — and the middle one is the sting).

2013-04-16 13.55.56-1

What to do instead? I know! I’ll go for a bike ride! Aside from getting hit in the face by a fly (you should have seen the other guy), it was a bug-free ride.

Because the weather was very briefly great, I headed out for the Soos Creek Trail. I love this short ride. It’s a bit hilly and beautiful, running along the right of way for enormous electrical powerlines. If one just ignores them, the views are stunning.

Best of all, it’s spring, so the skunk cabbages are in full bloom!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, I realize that many of you have never had the pleasure of cycling along a path that is liberally lined with skunk cabbages. It’s a truly unique experience. You see, skunk cabbages… stink. Like skunks, sort of. In fact, what they really remind me of is the smell of those 70’s “cigarettes” my dad thought I didn’t know he was smoking. Yes, they smell like super-strong 70’s weed.

Hey, they’re totally legal now! At least in Washington. Everywhere else, just a few skunk cabbages can land you in the pokey, kids, so just say no! Not even once.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After passing through the mucky Path of Skunk, I emerged into the more open, drier valley in the middle of the trail. I love this stretch. On a clear day, Rainier is visible in the distance, though today the mountain was moodily shrouded in a few drifting clouds (probably contemplating a lahar).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The way the path twists here is so much fun to ride, and the sweet sound of the red wing blackbirds and wrens singing in the reeds is wonderful.

On the other side of the valley, the trail passes through a lightly forested area with small streams. Wild bleeding hearts take over for the skunk cabbages (thank heaven). I like to stop here and rest in the shade for a moment, enjoying the trees. Wait… what are those things in the background?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe leaves aren’t out yet in the maples, but given the temperature, I didn’t mind the extra sun in the patches where I got it. It was just warm enough to bike without a jacket.

Either end of this trail is marked by short, steep hills. The southern end’s hill is far steeper than the one toward the northern end. I almost didn’t bother to try this one this time. I have yet to make it all the way up without stopping and walking, and today was no exception. Every time, I think I’m going to make it, but then I reach the false summit and realize I’m going to have to ride up a second, equally steep section, and I poop out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Funny how there’s no way to make a photo really convey how steep a hill actually feels. This looks like nothing, but really, it’s so steep that I needed a Sherpa to lay guide ropes, I swear.

At the end of the trail, I met a nice lady out to train for the running portion of a triathlon  who, it turns out, knows my neighbor (who runs ultra-marathons and Iron Man-type things). We had a nice chat about exercise and bikes and running. Then it was time to turn around, and head back the way I’d come. Soos Creek is only 6 miles long, though it does connect to another trail, the Lake Youngs Trail. That one is soft-surface, which The Raleigh prissily objects to (so uncomfortable on those Schwalbe’s), so we’ve never tried it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sun was fully out by the time I hit the valley again, probably for the last time until July.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I reached the final hill on my return, I grit my teeth and took it by the throat like a vicious, enraged hornet faced with a Cotton Gardening Glove of Death. It’s even steeper than the southern end, but it’s much shorter, so power up it I did. Then The Raleigh and I stopped to take our favorite congratulatory picture by the Hill at the End of the World Sign. We weren’t stopping so we could pant furiously and regain our ability to breathe, honestly!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If we were panting, just a little, it was only due to the excessive amount of skunk cabbage gas we’d inhaled, officer, I swear!

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to April 17 2013 Ride: Weeds

  1. anniebikesa says:

    I like the looks of skunk cabbage with its sexy broad foliage, but the smell, phew! (never did like the smell of “weed”. Thanks for my morning laugh. Glad you got out for a nice ride.

  2. Nice report! I will have to check it out. Where is that trail, in relation to Bellevue? I got out on the Sammamish River Trail last weekend, reported in my blog. Think I will do a little mountain biking in the neighborhood today.

  3. disabledcyclist says:

    Ugh….hornets…bees in general. I’m not alergic either,actually,I’ve built up a fair bit of immunity to lots of the creepy-crawlies we have in this area,which is a good thing I suppose,but one doesn’t build up immunity from looking at them,but from stings and bites (from carpenter bees,wasps,hornets,yellow jackets-got swarmed by those once-to one bite 6 years ago from a Brown Recluse spider,and at least three copperhead snake bites over the years…).

    Good show on deciding to make the day by riding though,always a good idear,IMO :D The ol Raleigh looks sweet in the pics,as ever,my friend :)

    The DC

  4. rideblog says:

    I like the look too, Annie. I once asked a friend if one could eat them, and she said that the local Indians used the leaves like saran wrap for storing pemmican. Considering how pemmican tastes anyway… yike.

  5. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Chris! I love the Sammamish River Trail. It’s awesome. Saw an otter there once!

    Soos Creek is in Renton, so about 15-20 minutes south of Bellevue, if you have no traffic.

    http://www.kingcounty.gov/recreation/parks/trails/regionaltrailssystem/sooscreek.aspx

  6. rideblog says:

    You beat me on creepy-crawlies, DC, by a landslide!

  7. disabledcyclist says:

    LOL,well,I can’t say it was a pleasure :P

Leave a Reply

