New and Improved! The Gazelle Champion Mondial.

Whenever I receive an older bike, I find myself thinking the same thing: “this one isn’t going to be that great.”

I know about steel wool, yet I continue to doubt it. I have seen the transformations now, many times, but I can’t seem to hold onto this knowledge in the face of filthy-bike reality.

Don’t get me wrong, The Gazelle Champion Mondial was never really filthy. Dusty, rusty (in a few spots) and a bit neglected, but not filthy. Still, I was as unprepared as ever for the transformation.

I got it back from Gregg’s yesterday, without the new pedals (they called me to say it was done, not realizing that I was still waiting for the pedals to arrive. I wasn’t about to leave it there, so home it came to await the pedal-ing here). Today, with the sun shining brightly, I thought… I’ll go for a ride. But before I go, I’ll just test that stand-over height on the new bike… yeah, it’s big, but how does it ride? I’ll just test that out in the cul-de-saq… yeah, it’s nice, but the saddle needs to come way down… maybe I’ll roll the bars up… no, roll ‘em back down… can the stem come up a bit? Okay… boy, I should clean this thing up.

So much for the ride.

Here are some “before” shots:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So… three hours later, with many Windex wipes, some 000 steel wool and Mother’s Mag for the aluminum, we have this…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, that’s a bottle cage, and yes, I realize the seat is crooked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Those formerly-rusty Mafac Racers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Simplex derailleur, with its PINK wheel. Crazy talk!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Dura Ace cranks are super sexy, aren’t they? Swoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The gleam! My eyes! The goggles, they do nothing! (It’s a Simpsons reference).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lovely dynamo, gorgeous brakes, shiny headset! I love the fork lug details.

Glamour Shots…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So gorgeous! I’ve ordered some “vintage” red-rubber grips from Amazon, which should look amazing. My initial thoughts on the size are that the standover is high, but eh… with the saddle where it is, my legs fit the bike perfectly, and since it’s low but not jammed down into the seat cluster or anything, I think I’m okay. I’d like a shorter stem, and possibly one that can be raised even more, like a Nitto Technomic with a shorter reach, maybe 90? Otherwise, we’re good to go once the pedals come in. I’m going to ride it as is for a while and get a better feel for what it needs. The ride is very smooth and silky. Hurrah!

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Bikes, Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New and Improved! The Gazelle Champion Mondial.

  1. Hopeful Romantic says:

    Great job on the clean-up. What a gorgeous bike!

  2. Absolutely beautiful bike! I love the lugs. Reminds me of the lugs on my Mercian, which was one of the reasons I bought it.

  3. LanzaMarie says:

    That’s a beauty!!

  4. anniebikes says:

    I’ve gotta have that steel wool and Mothers Mag polish. What an amazing transformation! I’m loving this bike and I hope it fits you over the long haul.

  5. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Hopeful!

  6. rideblog says:

    Chris, I agree. Ain’t nothin’ like gorgeous lugs!

  7. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Lanza!

  8. rideblog says:

    Triple zero steel wool is available at hardware stores, and really is magical. Mother’s Mag is a rim cleaner from auto stores, and works on anything with corrosion. I use it on aluminum, and sometimes on dulled steel parts that weren’t chromed.

  9. disabledcyclist says:

    Looking GOOD! :D

    The DC

  10. CJ says:

    I love the color.

  11. Jim Duncan says:

    Way Nice! I’ve a fork fetish myself.

  12. gl. says:

    ooooo!

  13. Jaysus, this is friggin’ gorgeous!!! The before pics were lovely enough, but you’ve outdone yourself with the after. Hope you ride the heck out of this one.

  14. rideblog says:

    Thanks, V! Wait until you see it now. It’s almost too beautiful to ride, but not quite :).

Leave a Reply

