May 29 2013 Ride: Quick Jaunt

Really, this isn’t a ride report. It’s more like a dip into the ride report pool. On Wednesday of last week, realizing that I had less than an hour to ride, I took The Gazelle Champion Mondial down to the Cedar River Trail and rode like the wind! Okay, not that fast, but it felt fast to me. I was able to do about 17 miles in just over 45 minutes, which is pretty speedy compared to my ride speeds on The Raleigh, or god forbid, the other Gazelle.

I took just three photos, one of which is of the new handlebar wraps, so folks could see them.

Riding this bike is addictively fun. In fact, today I took my longest, hardest ride ever and it was amazing (more on that ride later). So I think it’s safe to say that this bike has won me over, and you’re all going to have to bear with excessive Gazelle Champion Mondial raving for a while. I know, we all miss The Raleigh, but when I fall, I fall hard. And I am definitely in a honeymoon period with this bike.

Here are my three Cedar River Trail photos. Stay tuned for the longer, more exciting ride report coming soon!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May 29 2013 Ride: Quick Jaunt

  1. Nate says:

    I’ve been considering converting an old steel road bike from drop bars to something more akin to your Gazelle. But I’m concerned about the reach to the downtube shifters when riding an upright city bike. On your rides, have you found reaching for those shifters to be comfortable, or would you find a handlebar mounted shifter better?

    As an aside, the Gazelle is a magnificent bike.

  2. rideblog says:

    Thanks, Nate! It’s a beauty.

    The shifters are a pain. I’ll admit it. They’re the only thing I’m not loving about the bike (especially as they’re friction, so it’s not just a quick click). That said, they’re doable. I find shifting the left hand one much more unnerving than the right, for some reason. Fortunately, I’m a weenie about speed, so I’m staying on the easy side anyway. I do find I shift much less than I would on The Raleigh, for instance.

    I was just thinking that up next I’m going to move the damned things to bar-end. I hear it’s not a terribly expensive thing to do anyway.

  3. anniebikes says:

    Regarding the downtube shifters, I think it depends on where you’re coming from. I ride a Miyata touring bike with same shifters. Recently, I switched to mustache bars; I no longer could tolerate the bent over position of drops bars. I still find the shifting intuitive. Perhaps it’s because I still lean over a bit as opposed to more upright bars?

  4. Nate says:

    Bar ends? Sounds like you should get a mustache handlebar and just go the full Rivendell :). But you’re right, a conversion to bar ends or thumb shifters should be relatively cheap. Thanks for the reply and enjoy the ride!

  5. rideblog says:

    Annie, that might be it. These are pretty darn upright. The older bars were more intuitive, as you noted, especially when I had the stem down all the way. I’m just really far from those shifters now!

  6. rideblog says:

    Nate, I’m so already Rivendell-on-the-cheap it’s ridiculous. At least I’m not sporting a $250 saddlebag…

Leave a Reply

