A Brief Break…

So, you go and start a blog about riding a bike. Folks read it. How exciting!

Then you up and have surgery, preventing you from riding said bike for nearly two months. No problem, right? Sigh.

On Wednesday, I will be going in to the hospital to have surgery. I have no problem talking about why, as I figure that despite the somewhat “personal” nature of my illness, there’s nothing to be ashamed of in having a uterus, nor in having it removed (as I remarked to The Beloved, it’s not like I’m having surgery for syphilis). Due to uterine fibroids that are causing a whole mess o’ nasty, debilitating symptoms, I will be having what is known as a vaginal hysterectomy (as opposed to an abdominal one). I’m not freaked out by this, much. In fact, whenever I start getting a bit nervous, I only have to remind myself that due to the fibroids, I’ve had 15 periods in the last 7 months, and suddenly surgery starts looking just grand again. I’m 39 years-old, and am not going to have any more kids. Because we’re acting quickly, the surgery can be done in a much less intrusive manner, and I should be totally recovered in six weeks, as opposed to three months for the abdominal version. I’ll be back at work in twelve days, should all go well. Ah, the wonders of modern medicine!

So how long will it be before I can ride a bike again? I’m not sure. I will only be in the hospital for one night. I’m certain I’ll be encouraged to take walks and exercise as soon as I feel up to it. After my C-Section, six years ago, I was doing ten-mile walks pushing a stroller in a month, and running in three months. I’m a tough cookie, and I heal very quickly. I would hope to be riding soon.

In the meantime, I have the Shogun nearly finished and I’m going to write about that in the next few days (much news is entailed). I have a new Carradice Barley and Bagman set-up to photograph and blog about. I suppose I could become “walk blog” for a few weeks… I’ll figure something out.

Hang in there, readers (all couple-hundred of you…). I’ll be back!

Update: Doc says I’ll be able to ride again in about two weeks! How amazing is that? We’ll see…

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Brief Break…

  1. jerping says:

    get well soon! hope to read more of your rides.

  2. Auchen says:

    Best wishes for a rapid recovery.

    That being said, your blogging fingers will not be impacted by this, and you’ll have plenty of time to opine about bikes and such while you recuperate.
    -So don’t let your writing talent rust away with your road bikes.

  3. rideblog says:

    Fortunately, the doc told me today that I should be back on the bike in two weeks. That’s encouraging!

    I was pondering today just having fun with the blog for a week: make it “rantblog” or something, but I think I’ll have enough between the Shogun (must get more photos) and the bag purchase for the Panasonic.

    Here’s my rant o’ the day: cool, ironically hip young rockers who write great songs about all the beautiful, snotty girls they date who then ditch them and break their hearts, again and again. I find myself in mom-mode: Stop dating snots and find some nice, less-attractive girls, you idiots.

    Clearly, I’m getting too old for rock and roll!

  4. Davidson Smith says:

    Hey snarkypup, glad to hear your on the mend. Good timing to be laid up though, the weather has been awful. Here’s to a speedy recovery and happy trails soon!

  5. Ross says:

    Gute Besserung!

    Feel better, ride soon. Love your blog!

  6. Sorry to have missed this post and not sent good wishes sooner.
    Wishing you a speedy recovery!

Leave a Reply

