Surgery Update

So I’m home, after a night in the hospital, and feeling okay. Everything went perfectly, and aside from a bit of pain and swelling in my abdomen, I feel pretty darn good. Doc said I can ride as soon as I feel like it, but I can’t lift anything over 10 pounds for two weeks anyway, which would seem to preclude my bikes :).

Thanks for all the well-wishes.

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surgery Update

  1. Kara says:

    Hope you continue to heal and can back on your bike soon!

  2. Auchen says:

    You may have to park your vintage bikes for a few weeks, and rent one of those new black, ultra-light crab-on frame bikes, that all the weight weenies RAVE about on the road bike forum. . . (Not sure why they call them that, though. I guess they look like crustaceans riding them.)

  3. rideblog says:

    You know, Auchen, even as I was typing it, I was thinking… I bet I could get some carbon frame light enough to pick up. But I think by the time I would want to ride one, I’d be able to lift my Panasonic, which is close enough to the 20lb weight limit given me for after the next 14 days. I think it’s about 23 or 24 pounds.

    My favorite memory of this stuff was after my c-section, six years ago, when they told me the same thing: don’t lift over 10lbs. Then they handed me my 8lb baby in his car-seat-carrier thing, which had to weigh five pounds all by itself, and sent me home :).

Leave a Reply

