Oh the Agony!

20 points if you can find what hurt me in this photo.

20120409-181942.jpg

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Oh the Agony!

  1. Erin B says:

    the end of the saddle?

  2. rideblog says:

    No 🙂 Erin, it’s in the background.

  3. Randy says:

    Something you’re allergic to. I can’t identify the plant.

  4. Vicki says:

    I was going to say the end of the saddle too … is it stinging nettles?

  5. Hopeful Romantic says:

    I thought bee so I even blew up the photo. I see a couple of possibilities but can’t say for certain.

  6. rideblog says:

    Tee hee! I’m enjoying all the suspense. Answer tomorrow morning :).

  7. DisabledCyclist says:

    Dandilion?

  8. John h says:

    Poison Ivy, post nature call. LOL =)

  9. rideblog says:

    April wins with the first correct answer: Nettles! Stepped right into a patch of the little bastards in footie socks that don’t cover my ankle bone. Yowch!

  10. DisabledCyclist says:

    Ugh…..

  11. They sell them at the co-op grocery near my house. If you put them in a smoothie, cook them, or dry them and make tea, they’re totally safe to consume and supposedly really nutritious! I’ve been told nettle tea is good for allergies. But they do sell them in plastic bags with warnings to only handle the fresh leaves while wearing gloves.

  12. rideblog says:

    April, one of my students (I call her “my 50’s boy scout who’s a girl”) is writing an article on nettle soup for our school newspaper. Her harvesting instructions are hysterically off-putting ;). And not only that, but she says they don’t really taste all that great, either. As The Handsome Man says: “You can make soup out of anything. That’s the nature of soup. That doesn’t mean it’s good.” Indeed.

  13. The nettles in New England don’t sting, which was a shock to discover when I first moved here from Europe. Didn’t seem right!

  14. Hah! Well, they make good tea. I haven’t had them fresh in any form myself.

  15. Also, I mean, the same is true of hot chili peppers–you have to wear gloves when you handle them. My dad found that out the hard way, when he chopped some up and then….went to the bathroom. Poor guy. I can only imagine the agony.

  16. rideblog says:

    Yes, but at least peppers taste good (in small doses)!

Leave a Reply

