Some biking articles and thoughts…

Still raining apathy over here in the Seattle area.

But these two articles from The Atlantic intrigued me, being published at the same time (or  close enough):

http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2012/11/study-biking-restores-brain-connectivity-in-parkinsons/265563/

Cycling, it seems, can slow or even reverse some of the decline in Parkinson’s disease, especially if you are forced to pedal much harder than you would prefer. I keep thinking of all those steep hills I so enjoy tackling (no, really, I do). Could I be helping my own brain, which is also the victim of some crazy neuropathy?

But then, there’s this:

http://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2012/11/study-the-obesity-gene-protects-against-depression/265487/

So, while cycling madly up the hill may help to prevent the neural destruction of one’s brain, at least in some people, it might also mean you’re wretchedly unhappy.

Can’t win ‘em all, I guess…

It does make me feel a bit better that all those gorgeous, naturally-skinny people might be sitting around miserably pondering the meaninglessness of their beautiful lives.

I need to get out more.

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

