So perhaps “return” was premature…

Two years ago, I said I was returning to this blog. Obviously, that wasn’t true.

Life was… strange. My relationship with my partner of many years was deteriorating into something that felt more like I had a roommate than a mate. My health was up and down. I was struggling with loneliness and even depression. I didn’t realize it, but my life was slowly, incrementally falling apart.

In 2015, the relationship ended. Around that same time, I met someone… Or should I say reconnected with someone. For the first time in many years, I fell in love with someone who was fully capable of loving me in return. My mood improved, my health improved. I moved to a new house, and am now engaged to be married next year.

Everything has changed. Life is 100% better, and I can’t wait to talk about it, and to get back on my bikes! But… (there’s always a “but,” isn’t there?).

Right now, I’m recovering from shoulder surgery. A car accident last year meant months off and terrible pain. But now I’m almost whole again. The bikes, which have been sitting in a shed for over a year, can get a bright polish soon and then… the trails call! Within the next few months, I should be riding again, albiet slowly and carefully.

Stay tuned… Life is back on track!

About rideblog

Love to ride my bikes!
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So perhaps “return” was premature…

  1. adventurepdx says:

    Yeah! You’re back! Good to hear that. And good to hear that things are on the up-and-up after being on the down-and-down.

  2. Robert Paul Glassen says:

    Welcome back. I am glad to receive an email notice of your return. Many fond memories of your past blog posts. We share an interest in vintage bikes, including “IGHs”. I have a relatively rare Sturmey-Archer 4-Speed on my 1965 Moulton . Your 4 July 2013 review of the Carradice Junior answered some questions for me. I am also a one-time Seattle resident, Tacoma born, now living on central Vancouver Island, an ’emigre’ for the last 20 years. I want to acknowledge your brief, candid summary of what was clearly a hard year or so for you. Very glad to hear things are ‘back on track’. Hope to hear of your return to riding. I always find it helps in many ways. -Paul

  3. Chris Andress says:

    That is wonderful, at least where you are now. I look forward to reading.

Leave a comment